St David’s Day mission

About 10 days ago I was contacted by Visit Wales and asked if I would submit images to be used by them on St David’s Day.

Visit Wales have shared my images from Instagram on their Twitter and Instagram accounts before.

The brief was that the images had to be easily identifiable as Wales and if possible have references to St David’s Day, so beautiful daffodils in bloom. Images of spring were also wanted, lambs and their mothers and flowers.

I jumped at the opportunity and over the last 2 weekends set about getting possible images.

Locations I visited included:

  • Caerphilly Castle
  • Castell Coch (twice)
  • Abergavenny Castle
  • Big Pit National Coal Museum
  • Talgarth
  • Brecon
  • Usk
  • Chainbridge

12 images were submitted and 2 were used on the Wales Facebook page, which you can view on the link.

It was a magical mystery tour of places I hadn’t been to in years. My son Noah loved it too, especially the castles, Abergavenny seemed a particular favourite of his with room to run around and explore.

I went to Castell Coch twice, the first time it was veiled in heavy mist and looked very eerie. The daffodils had only just started to open. So I returned a week later when the skies were lighter and a few more dafs had opened.

The search for lambs took me to Abergavenny, Talgarth and Brecon without a single lamb being spotted. I then tried Usk, Chainbridge and Goytre with more success.

Here are a selection of the images I made over those 2 weekends.

You can see more of my images on my website including my gallery of Welsh castles and monuments.

One thought on “St David’s Day mission

Leave a Reply

